Gill Smith – The Panic Begins

Gill Smith

I’m currently a little bouncy, if not to say mildly hyperactive with nervous excitement about the whole Edinburgh thing. My deadline dates for what needs to be done when are very early this year, partly because the song spoofs need to fit into the overall structure of the show, so they need to be done early, to work on everything else around, and partly because I’m taking the show first to the Brighton Fringe. I’ve never been this organised this early before – or had so much worry about where the hours to write it will appear from!

 

So it was great this weekend to have a very productive session with my Musical Director. I like saying “MD” as it makes it all sound terribly formal, and like I’m an entire Glee Club, whereas actually, for a solo control freak, I’ve got the best of both worlds – a talented musician, but on a more informal basis, as he’s also a friend and, most importantly, I’ve known well enough and long enough that I completely trust his judgement and feedback. Which is a slight pity, as if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have so many rewrites to do this week. But I know the show will be better for them, and actually, one or two of his suggestions have been fun to write already. It’s good to do that bit – actually enjoy the writing. It reminds me (usefully, for the odd moment later where, in my panic, I will forget) that this is fun. That it’s writing. It’s enjoyable. It’s not root-canal work, whatever that happens to be (I’m not in the queue for trying it.)

Well, that’s what’s keeping me busy for the next few days: writing, typing up, editing, and honing. And jumping around with a smile on my face because I just thought of a great fun rhyme for “anti-bacterial.”

OCD: The Singing Obsessive Laughing Horse @ The Three Sisters 6:05pm(1 hr) 5th-28thAugust (not Tuesdays). Also on at Laughing Horse @ the Quadrant, Brighton 3:45 (1hr) 28th, 29th, 30th May.

Leave a Reply

