Donnie Rust – Native tongue

The Naked Busker

As the last day of my working 07.30-16.00 career comes to an end, I have made a profound realization about myself I abhor a wasted day, I abhor a day that ends without me having accomplished something to the point where I will actively stay awake and pursue that “be-great” moment I’m expecting to come at every moment. As if I’m playing to an audience at every moment of my life and am required to find that one memorable line that will determine how the entire showcase will perceive me.

I would suggest this to be the manner in which everyone should live. If you’re not exhausted by the time you hit the hay your day’s been wasted.

As my Sensei taught me while I was studying ninjutsu in the Funokoloshi Mountains in Southern Africa:

“The purpose of life is not to arrive at a grave in a well-preserved body but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out and yelling what a ride!”

- or as he said it in his native tongue: “Malibu.”

Today marks the end of an era, the end of an era of conformity working patterns, an end to an era of being held rigidly to other people’s standards. From here on out I am an official professional comedian/musician and busker. With all the freedoms that that entails.

Most importantly the freedom I allow myself to make mistakes and live with the consequences and then turn them into material for my soon-to-be-outrageously hilarious stand up show.

Donnie Rust – The Naked Busker is on at The City Café 6.45pm Aug 20-28

Leave a Reply

