Gill Smith – Coarse Mates

Gill Smith

Apologies that it’s been a while, and that this (probably) wont be very long. I am currently awaiting my musical director’s arrival, to help knock the show into some sort of better shape pre-Brighton. So I have a moment or two for an update.

So, what’s happened? Well, I got my show safely booked in to Edfringe.com in good time. Of course, what I mean is good time for a comic, i.e. a couple of days. Not weeks, or anything overly organised like that. Getting it all sorted, I did notice that coming up with 100 words for the web entry, when you’re used to paring it down to 40 for the printed guide, is surprisingly tricky. Fortunately, I have 4 stars and some choice quotes from the wonderful One4review.com to fill up some space there, so thank you to Geoff for those!

Then I disappeared off on retreat for my Masters course. Which was brilliant and exhausting in equal measure. Not least because I’d never even left my 16 month old overnight before. And suddenly I was gone for 5 nights. She seems to have coped fine in fact, though this week’s freaky rash is clearly an allergic reaction to mummy’s return.

I got home to Edinburgh proofs (mostly marvellous!) and needing to get a shift on with the Brighton posters / flyers / press release. What to say? And I really must get something up on YouTube, if only to convince my coursemates that I can be funny. Oh yes, they did the usual “go on, make me laugh!” bit on the final night, after I’d had far too much to drink to have any brain at all. And of course “make me laugh” is the one phrase in the English language that removes everything even faintly amusing from my brain. So, yes, to convince them, and audiences that I’m funny, I need to get the publicity stuff moving. Thankfully in course terms, I managed a blinder of an in-gag later that evening, but, to borrow an over-used phrase “you had to be there.”

I hear a car pulling onto my drive. Off to be a diva, darling. Or possibly told what to do.
OCD: The Singing Obsessive Laughing Horse @ The Three Sisters 6:05pm(1 hr) 5th-28thAugust (not Tuesdays).Also on at Laughing Horse @ the Quadrant, Brighton 3:45 (1hr) 28th, 29th, 30th May.

Leave a Reply

