Gill Smith – A punch-up followed by an orgy.

Gill Smith

The Brighton Fringe is done and dusted. Not literally dusted, I should point out. I can see how you might have thought I’d given Brighton a clean-up, but really, with the number of hen parties in our hotel alone, it’d be an uphill struggle. (Best fun bits of hen party watching – spotting the apologetic looking mums and aunties!)

What can I say? I did 3 shows, and 2 other gigs. One of those was the late night show organised by comic Lenny Peters. I was a bit shattered by then (Midnight madness isn’t easy after 6am wakey-ness!), but all went fine. After my set, I’d gone downstairs for a reviving pinot, and annoyingly I missed that it all nearly turned into a punch-up. Followed by an orgy. Lenny hasn’t been seen since (at least, not by me. But that doesn’t mean a lot, I have a child-limited social life.)

The other gig was the weird and wonderful “Crowdshare” event. They let us middle-aged folks into the Brighton Youth Centre for the occasion. In the room we were mostly in, most of the audience were too young to yet count as youth. More under 1s than teens. Anyway, I made some people laugh, my daughter tried to steal their dressing up props, and we ate some fab veggie food, before saying hello to Beryl the camper van (and her owner!) and heading off to do my fringe show. It was fun – I’d have stayed longer if I could.

After a packed weekend, which saw my toddler discovering the beach for the first time, and not being terribly impressed by the sea – but liking the enormous “birdies” that come with it – we set off home. I’m now busily doing all the things I promised I’d do “after Brighton”, and regretting letting that list get quite so long. I’m also trying to regain the last two months worth of sleep, but I think some of it is gone forever.

Good news, however, for Edinburgh. The issue of childcare during the show, but in the week before my other half arrives has been solved, courtesy of my parents. I haven’t spent more than a few nights under the same roof as them since I was about 21, so here’s hoping they don’t notice when I’m out silly-late, and that doting granny feels more like early morning playtimes than I do!

So what’s next on the Edinburgh To-Do list? Probably posters & stuff. Which are at a head start as edits of the Brighton ones. For now all I need to do is send Tenfold some dosh, and get back to honing the show again. I think. If you notice I’ve forgotten something major, just let me know. See, even a 3 day stint at a non-Edinburgh fringe is enough to fry my brain! Back to collapsing in a heap for me. See you when I’ve woken up.

OCD: The Singing Obsessive Laughing Horse @ The Three Sisters 6:05pm(1 hr) 5th-28thAugust (not Tuesdays).

2 thoughts on “Gill Smith – A punch-up followed by an orgy.

  1. Hi Gill

    It’s worth getting a press release together quite soon I reckon, because the fringe programme launches on june 9th, and it’s good to be able to fire press releases off to match that, or so I’ve been led to believe.

    I have childcare issues myself, in that she’s very young, so it’ll be my first “fringe with a baby”. I didn’t think we’d be welcome in a flat share either, so it “frozen fringe with a baby” possibly, because were camping LOL

    oh the joys

    • Hi Eric,

      Good thought on the press stuff – I knew I was missing something! Possibly because I forgot it’s now June.

      Wow, I do not envy you a month in a tent with a baby… but then babies are adaptable… my top tip, based on last year, is keep the bedtime routine as structured as you can, and then I think most other bits fall into place. Also, if you can’t fit all the baby clutter in the car with the tent, there are places you can hire pushchairs, travel cots, etc, from, so do shout if you want me to look up where we used last year.

      Good luck with it – and hopefully we can arrange a performers’ parent-and-toddler meet up sometime so the children see other little folks!
      Gill

Leave a Reply

